• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 WorkingPoor

WorkingPoor

Grizzly Bear

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4,241 posts
  • Interests:I'm a Canadian living the simple life in Mexico. Instead of Sleepless in Seattle, I am Stuffless in Mexico. Oh, and I have been posting on bearish forums since 2000. I have been here before as CivilBear and PoorSoul.

Posted 10 January 2013 - 08:42 AM

The Great Recession and the very slow pace of subsequent recovery has sky-rocketed the unemployment, as well as people on welfare and food stamps.

A record high of 15% or 46.37 million Americans are on food stamps in June last year -- that's almost one in every seven Americans. That number is not expected to come down much without a significant improvement in the unemployment picture.

Even worse, according to The Chronicle of Higher Education,

The number of people with graduate degrees — master's degrees and doctorates — who have had to apply for food stamps, unemployment or other assistance more than tripled between 2007 and 2010. Of the 22 million Americans with master's degrees or higher in 2010, about 360,000 were receiving some kind of public assistance, according to the latest Current Population Survey released by the U.S. Census Bureau in March 2011.

So holding a PhD does not automatically walk you into even a decent paying job any more.

Read more: http://feedproxy.goo...l#ixzz2Ha0o9Lml

#2 JonLaw

JonLaw

Grizzly Bear

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 5,840 posts

Posted 10 January 2013 - 09:23 AM

So holding a PhD does not automatically walk you into even a decent paying job any more.

I don't think that it ever did that in the first place.
A day late and a dollar short.

#3 zephyrprime

zephyrprime

Black Bear

• Members
  • Pip
  • 343 posts

Posted 10 January 2013 - 01:44 PM

I don't think that it ever did that in the first place.

It did back in the old days. Just remember that back in 1950, only about 5% of the population even went to college.